Recommended Databases
AIP journals and conference proceedings covering physics and chemistry research.
Coverage: varies, 1931 to present.
Full run access is available to the following five AIP journals: Journal of Applied Physics,
Chemical Physics, Mathematical Physics, Physical and Chemical Reference Data, and Applied Physics Letters.
Access all IOP published journals covering physics, mathematics, and engineering.
Coverage: 1874 - current
Journal content hosted by the Institute of Physics in
IOPscience represents more than 300,000 articles.
You can browse assorted subject categories or search by keywords. You can also search by PACS and MSC codes
to find articles. PACS is a hierarchical subject classification scheme for physics and astronomy. MSC codes
are used to categorize items covered by the two reviewing databases,
Mathematical Reviews (MR) and
Zentralblatt MATH (Zbl). RSS feeds allow you to be alerted when new content is updated. IOP also offers PACS
and MSC clouds to find content. The clouds are a text-based depiction of the content of a grouping of articles
in IOPscience. The clouds help to navigate quickly and easily to groups of articles which might be of interest.
Complete run of physics journals from the American Physical Society.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916 - current
The complete archive consists of all of
Physical Review back to
1893, all of
Physical Review Letters back to 1958, and all of
Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929. The majority of the collection
consists of scanned images of the printed journals available as either GIF
images or as PDF files. Portions of the 1995 and 1996 content and all content
thereafter, however, consist of PDF files that are produced directly as part of
our paper printing process.
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's
science, technology and medical published content. UML has full text access to 1,590 peer-reviewed journals
with citations and detailed abstracts available for over 1,000 other journals.
Apart from the sciences, computer science, mathematics, business and economics are also covered.
In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical
archive of over 6.75 million articles back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections
contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Access to 35 ACS journals plus its weekly news magazine.
Coverage: 1879 - current
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications provides searchable access to over
130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000
articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to
the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
APS news, meeting reports, resources for educators and students and much more.
The
American Physical Society (APS) site offers a variety of resources useful for members, students and educators as well as anyone with
an interest in physics and how the world works. Besides APS news and meeting reports, the site also contains
standalone sections: Physics Central that explains what's going on in physics and how things work; Focus that
provides brief explanations of selected research from APS journals; and Physics in History that includes "This
Month in Physics History."
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Over 2.3 million science research citations and documents from Dept. of Energy.
Coverage: 1943 - current
The
Energy Citations Database (ECD) combines over two million citations with nearly 200,000 full text documents
that cover scientific and technical research results in
disciplines of interest to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) such as
chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering,
mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related
disciplines. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature,
conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Access all issues of the journal Nature along with other content.
Coverage: 1869 - current
The Nature website offers a wealth of information and services in multi formats, including
video, podcasts, rss feeds, blogs, and an entire science job site.
In addition to the complete run of the journal
Nature, UML also has access to the
EMBO Journal,
EMBO Reports,
Heredity, and
Laboratory Investigation. EMBO stands for The European
Molecular Biology Organization. Its Reports provides focused short papers
and review articles while the journal provides complete articles, both covering all
areas of molecular biology. Heredity is an official journal of the Genetics Society. In addition,
free access is available for 36 titles with a one or five year embargo.
Access complete runs of all journals and conference papers published by OSA.
Coverage: varies, 1917 - current
Optics InfoBase offers complete full-text access to all OSA's publications dating back to 1917.
The search engine includes advanced features such as topical clustering. In addition, the site offers browsing
by subject, automatic reference linking between articles, TOC alerts, RSS feeds, and citation export.
SciFinder Scholar is an electronic version of the complete Chemical Abstracts starting from 1907. It provides
access to more than 8000 journal and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations), and includes
more than 30 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. Users can search the chemical literature
(journals and patents) in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure
or chemical reaction. The CAS databases are a comprehensive collection of published chemical literature.
The complete Medline database from 1950 on is also searchable through SciFinder Scholar.
6 journals covering physics, engineering, vacuum science and medical devices.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1933) - current
UML has access to the following six journals on the Scitation website:
- American journal of physics (1933...)
- Journal of Construction Engineering and Management (1993...)
- Journal of the Electrochemical Society (1955...)
- Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology B: Microelectronics and Nanometer Structures (1983...)
- Physics Teacher (1963...)
- Virtual Journal of Nanoscale Science & Technology (2000...)
Scopus (Elsevier)
New Resource
Abstract and citation database providing research publication analysis.
SciVerse Scopus is touted as the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and
quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. With over 19,000 titles from more
than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers a quick, easy
and comprehensive resource to support the needs of researchers in the scientific, technical, medical and social
sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. Coverage includes the following:
- 18,500 peer-reviewed journals (including 1,800 Open Access journals).
- 425 trade publications.
- 325 book series.
- 250 conference proceedings.
A
full content coverage guide is available for download.
Full text books, journals, and society proceedings covering optics and photonics.
SPIE (Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers)is the international society for optics and photonics founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies.
The SPIE Digital Library contains 156 ebooks, 9 ejournals, and more than 268,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990. Approximately 17,000 new papers will be added each year. The following content is available within the Digital Library:
- Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)*
- Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990)
- Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992)
- Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996)
- Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002)
- Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
- Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
- Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011)
- SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989
Access hundreds of journals primarily covering areas of the sciences and health.
Coverage: mostly 1997 - current
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Scientific, technical, and medical content from journals, books, reference
works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for
quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific,
technical, medical and professional endeavors with content from journals, books,
reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library,
which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than
half of Wiley's journals on
Wiley InterScience are digitized back to
Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.
When the initiative is completed in 2007, it will be one of the largest archives
of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of
scientific and scholarly research.
Premier chemistry references, presenting facts, formulas, tables, and illustrations.
CHEMnetBASE offers the following resources. Each product is a separate entity
and can only be searched on its own.
Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) - combines the
following titles into one searchable database: Dictionary of Commonly Cited
Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource),
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of
Natural Products,
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, now in its 87th
Ed. - with the most heavily used tables updated and expanded.
Polymers: A Property Database - is fully searchable
and offers the ability to produce tables customized to user preference.
Properties of Organic Compounds - contains over 29,000
of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral
data, and structures.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Over 1,000 handbooks and references from CRC press.
EngNetBase covers all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and
late-breaking developments. Full text of all material can be searched by key word or browsed by topic. Books can be downloaded
in their entirety as a PDF document and saved locally.
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
Coverage: Current Edition
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject
Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies
including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press,
American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical
Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help
analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from
existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.