Recommended Databases
Covers music from the scholarly to the popular.
Coverage: 1874 - current
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) provides indexing and abstracts for 445 international
music periodicals from over 20 countries. 125 of these titles are available in full text.
The database currently includes over 760,000 records, the majority of
which index the most recent eight years of publication. More than 200,000 records in IIMP are from the
backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some
starting as early as 1874.
Streaming access to nearly 40,000 classical, jazz and world music CDs.
Naxos Music Library (NML) offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining
every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical
labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course,
Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music,
nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.
The aim of NML is to eventually offer access to every work of classical music ever recorded and to become the
ultimate resource in the classical music field. In future, users will also be able to view the instrumentation
of all orchestral and chamber music works and to access comprehensive analyses of all the most important works.
Resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names
and a glossary of musical terms. A comprehensive online encyclopedia of classical music is in development.
Cross-search multiple Oxford and Grove Music reference titles in one location.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
Oxford Music Online combines access to Grove Music Online (includes the full texts of:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera;
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition) with Oxford Music Reference works featuring Colin Larkin's
Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more covering music, dance, opera, and theater.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
Besides a Music Dictionary and Oxford Companion of Music,
Oxford Reference also offers several books on Opera as well as
American Theater and Dance. You can search or browse the subject group together or by individual title. You can also
combine your search with the entire multi-subject Oxford Reference collection.
Citations and abstracts from worldwide publications on music.
Coverage: 1967 - current
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently
over 540,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music, representing
disciplines that include musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and
others. All document types and media such as books, conference proceedings (going back to 1835), journal
articles, dissertations as well as internet resources, sound recordings and motion pictures are included.
RILM also features bilingual abstracts and all non-Roman scripts.
Databases
Broad collection from leading journals, newspapers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Audio Engineering Society research with over 13,000 full-text documents.
Coverage: 1953 - current
The AES publishes a wide variety of information in various formats. You can search the E-Library
to find content from Convention and Conference Papers and the peer-reviewed Journal of the AES.
The E-Library also contains Standards Documents, Technical Documents, and Anthologies and Collections.
Over 15,000 classical scores and manuscripts to view or print.
Classical Scores Library contains nearly 300,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public
domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.
Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the
University Music Editions microfilm series.
The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score
types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer,
work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type,
duration, editor, arranger, publisher. We hope that this will enable users to search, analyze, and research
scores in a simple but powerful manner.
100 full-text reference resources covering most academic subject areas.
Credo Reference aggregates authoritative high-quality reference works for online delivery to libraries worldwide.
UMass Lowell subscribes to 100 reference titles in Credo, with over 600 thousand entries, all fully
integrated and intelligently cross-linked. Reference resources include Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and atlases.
Subjects covered in particular are history, health, world politics and culture, social sciences, music, literature, biology,
education, and religion.
Over 300 full-text journals covering drama, music, art, filmmaking and more.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Fine Arts & Music Collection contains nearly 300 full-text journals with over 100 of those peer-reviewed with
a focus on titles indexed in Wilson Art and RILM.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Citations covering research in literature, linguistics,
literature, and folklore.
Coverage: 1980 - current
MLA International Bibliography(produced by the Modern Language
Association), contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals
& series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is
international and includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500
titles and nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of
literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism,
dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of
teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the
bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
A free wiki-based website offering digital public domain music scores.
The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music Library provides music scores free of charge to anyone
who has internet access. The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in
addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
The IMSLP also aspires to facilitate the exchange of musical ideas outside of compositions:
for example, the analysis of a particular piece of music. For that purpose they provide a wiki platform and encourage users
to create and/or edit pages with personal analysis of musical pieces.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Two music titles from MIT Press: Music and Memory, Virtual Music.
Coverage: Publication dates 2001
Music and Memory is a far-ranging book that shows how human memory influences the organization of music.
Virtual Music is about artificial intelligence, music cognition, and aesthetics.
The MIT CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links
and conference materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional
associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work. In addition,
the CogNet site contains a growing variety of helpful academic information: News, Profiles of Graduate Programs,
Graduate Application information and Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual
poster sessions, Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Nearly 2,000 books, articles, and
videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.