Databases
Accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry
publications and newspapers.
Coverage: 1971-current
ProQuest
Accounting & Tax includes nearly 2,200 titles, as well as IASB,
AICPA, and FASB accounting standards. It’s national and international in scope,
providing information on accounting policies and standards, state and national
legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans,
and corporate financial management. This database is the exclusive source for
the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). IASB consists of 31 active
standards ranging from accounting policies, revenue, assets, financial
statements, joint ventures, cash flow, and more.
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Full text business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere.
Coverage: 1971-current
With full text coverage from over 60 international scholarly journals, ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers
detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.
A great deal of information on international trade is available as well.
Full text coverage of international banking and finance.
Coverage: 1971-Current
ProQuest Banking Information Source combines over 360 of the leading journals from the most important international markets with Industry and professional newsletters, School of Bank Marketing Papers, and Stonier Theses. Subject coverage includes Banks, Banking industry, Banking law, Finance, Financial institutions, Financial services industry, Investments, Etc.
Business, company, and industry information on thousands of global companies.
Business & Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry
content in the following areas:
* Periodical articles, news articles, and press releases
* Detailed information for domestic and international companies and
associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures
* Company financials and earning estimates
* Investment reports
* Corporate chronologies and company histories
* Brands and product information
* Industry and company rankings
* Market Share data
* Industry Overviews
* HR Law Case Digests
Enhanced searching and browsing to the Business Source Premier database.
Coverage: 1922 - current
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top
management and marketing journals as well as more than 350 of the top scholarly
journals dating as far back as 1922. Additional full text, non-journal content
includes market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports
from the EIU, company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and SWOT
analyses.
Regional western Mass. business news (formerly Western Mass. Business Journal)
Coverage: Jan 1992(Vol. 8, no. 9) - present (with exceptions)
Founded in 1984 as The Western Mass. Business Journal, BusinessWest features timely, informative, entertaining articles that cover
the region’s business community -- its people, institutions, and issues. Started as a bi-monthly, BusinessWest doubled its frequency
in 2005.
Directories of publishing opportunities in Business and Computer Science.
Coverage: 1969 - current
Cabell's Directory helps authors determine which journals best fit the manuscript their wish to publish. The index in each Directory helps match
the characteristics of the manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes and acceptance rate.Also included is information on style and format,
guidelines, review process, and other pertinent information of interest to authors looking to publish.
Current and archival Federal and State Tax research materials.
A powerful compilation of top-rated research materials that includes CCH’s current and archival Federal and State Tax Reporters.
The range of resources in OmniTax Library includes Federal and state news and developments, Federal and state publications
Federal codes, regulations and explanations, Tax cases, Tax treaties information, Practice tools, and Tax forms.
Broad coverage of marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Coverage: 1969 - current
the American Economic Association’s electronic database,
EconLit,
provides links to full text articles in all fields of economics, including
capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting,
environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary
theory, urban economics and much more. It also includes abstracts of books,
journal articles, and working papers published by the
Cambridge University
Press. These sources bring the total records available in the database to
more than one million.
Access over 100 journals mostly covering areas of Management and Marketing.
Emerald is a leading English language publisher of academic and professional management literature, library services
and engineering. All of Emerald research journals are peer-reviewed to ensure the highest quality.
Emerald allows users to create profiles that enable them to subscribe to alerts
such as table of contents for favourite journals or to weekly digests for all journal issues published.
Toolkit, guides, tips, plans, and other entrepreneurial resources.
Coverage: 1963 - current
ProQuest Entrepreneurship is designed to arm entrepreneurs with vital resources for developing and researching their ideas
while providing valuable insight to help progress and grow their product or service:
- Video Clips: Over 11,000 video clips - many of which contain transcripts for convenient reference and can be downloaded.
- Market Research: Market and company reports, key financial ratios, demographics, insights, benchmarks, statistics and more.
- Start-Up Plans, Templates and Forms
- Journal Content: Full journal runs plus selected articles with a weekly refresh from over 11,000 sources.
- Business Cases: Structured plans outlining the feasibility of an idea.
- Working Papers: Future articles which may appear in publications months or years down the road.
- Conference Proceedings
- Full Text Dissertations
Business coverage from newspapers, journals, brokerage reports and more.
Coverage: 1980 - current
General Business File ASAP is a subset of the Gale OneFile
database. It contains abstracts and some full text from business newspapers,
magazines, and journals covering topics such as finance, acquisitions & mergers,
trade, money management, and investments & banking. Use it to analyze company
performance and activity, research industry events and trends, broker research
reports, and over 150,000 company directory listings.
Information about more than 40,000 companies and 225,000 key executives.
Hoover's Company Profiles offers information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them. It Features profiles of more than
40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives. This comprehensive database gives users the whole picture, including:
- Company overview
- Company history
- Officers and board members
- Competitors
- Products and operations
- Auditors
- Rankings
- Related industry information
- Historical financials
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Provides U.S. and international company financial information and market research.
LexisNexis provides a full range of credible sources for business information, including business and
financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources,
market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies
based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.
New 2008 8-volume 2nd edition with additional online quarterly updates.
Originally published in 1894 and later revised in 1923 and again as a "New" four-volume set in 1987, the Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
has continuously drawn together eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools to produce
an consistently valuable work of reference that has contained many individual classic essays of enduring importance. In 2008,
Palgrave Macmillan published The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume.
While some classic articles from the 1987 were retained, around 80% of the text was either entirely new or substantially rewritten
to reflect the depth of change within the discipline between the editions. This new edition retains the tradition of bringing together
the world's most influential economists (including 25 Nobel Laureates in Economics) writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise,
but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic resource that is updated on a quarterly basis.
Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase databases.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Business & Management Practices (BaMP) content focuses on practical approaches to management processes and methods. BaMP offers
highly-focused coverage from more than 300 current professional and trade journals containing information relevant to the fields of
management, planning, production, finance, marketing, information technology and human resources; as well as an additional 1,000+ more
general business journals and newspapers.
Business & Industry (B&I) is a broad-based business information
database that focuses on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets. It covers
all industries and is international in scope. B&I draws content from over 1,800 trade and industry publications, regional, national
and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters.
TableBase is a database comprised of tabular
information of a strategic nature. Every record has a unique table title. Many of the table records also have textual content which
supports the data in the tables. The tables provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports,
exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics.
Over 500 journals covering health, social sciences, education, business and more.
Coverage: 1999 - current
The
Sage Premier eJournal Collection is particularly strong in areas of Health Care and Social Sciences,
but also covers the Life Sciences (biochemistry, endocrinology, neuroscience, and pharmacology);
the Physical Sciences (computer science, engineering, and materias science); Economics, Management, and Business;
and the Humanities (music, religion, international studies and language studies).
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's
science, technology and medical published content. UML has full text access to 1,590 peer-reviewed journals
with citations and detailed abstracts available for over 1,000 other journals.
Apart from the sciences, computer science, mathematics, business and economics are also covered.
In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical
archive of over 6.75 million articles back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections
contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Provides insights, tips, strategies and more than 600 full-text publications.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Gale
Small Business Collection contains over 600 full-text publications, most of them journals,
70 of which are designated peer-reveiwed with nearly half of those from university presses. Many of the other titles are
trade publications ranging in type from magazines or journals primarily to newsletters, handbooks, textbooks and other types.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Coverage of national and international finance as well as hard news.
Coverage: 1984 - current
The Wall St. Journal's comprehensive, high-quality indexing covers not only complete bibliographic
information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic
areas, so researchers can easily access not only top news stories but also
detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even
such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from
well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an
abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will
meet his or her needs.
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1993
The database covers
The Wall Street Journal from its first issue in
1889 through 1991. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Provides single-interface access to Compustat, CRSP, and other financial data.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of
Pennsylvania. WRDS provides the user with one location for research to a variety of databases through a common interface such as
COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CUSIP, Dow Jones, Global Insight, and other important business research databases.
WRDS also features Eventus Software for performing event studies combining data directly from COMPUSTAT and CRSP stock databases.
COMPUSTAT is a Standard & Poor's database of financial, statistical, and marketing information.
COMPUSTAT provides the annual and quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items
on most publicly held companies. COMPUSTAT files also contain information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices,
dividends, and earnings.
CRSP is the Center for Research in Security Prices at the Booth School of Business, University of Chicago.
CRSP compiles the CRSP Stock Database Files which provide security price data on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), the
American Stock Exchange (AMEX) and The Nasdaq Stock Market (Nasdaq). CRSP also provides a comprehensive database of government
security price information. Additional CRSP files contain information on stock summaries (indices), treasury bills, maturity
portfolios, fama-bliss discount bonds, Risk Free rates, cap based portfolios, S&P 500, mutual funds, bonds, bills, and inflation.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners.
Coverage: 2nd edition 2002
Contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners,
including financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy,
tax planning, and human resource issues.
5 dictionaries covering accounting, economics, finance, and management.
Coverage: Publication dates 1997 - 2006
Nearly 2,000 books, articles, and
videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.
Over 160 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2010
Sage eReference titles, including the
Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods,
can be searched together or separately by keyword or browsed by subject. Individual
titles have a Reader's Guide that combines entries into thematic categories. You can also limit searches by images, tables,
or sidebars. Subjects covered include African American Studies, Anthropology, Business and
Management, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods,
Social Issues, Sociology, and much more.
Research Guide
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.