Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 140 books
along with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications
as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, film,
interior and landscape design, and much more.
ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.3 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities,
and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by
a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
Now offered as a free web site by the Getty Research Institute
The data available on the Getty Web site as of April 1, 2010, comprises two databases: BHA and IBA.
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007.
The BHA, with articles from over 1,200 journals, is considered to be the world's most comprehensive
bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. The Getty Web version includes all records with
abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French
and English. IBA (International Bibliography of the History of Art) covers 2008 and part of 2009; the Getty Web
version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in French and English. A third database
will be added to the Getty Web site during the coming months: RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art),
which covers 1975–1989. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie),
which covers 1973–1989.
Oxford Art Online combines the entire full text of The
Oxford Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) with The
Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001), the
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
along with the
Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Combined access
contains over 21,000 biographies, 500,000 citations, and over 5,400 thumbnail images as well as over
40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world.
Databases
Broad collection from leading journals, newspapers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Google presents virtual museum tours and artwork super-zoom tool
In collaboration with some of the world's most famous museums, Google recently launched its Art Project
web site. Applying its Street-View technology within museums, the site allows visitors to virtually
explore galleries within seventeen major museums from around the world, such as MoMA, The Frick,
Versailles, Uffizi, Tate, and Van Gogh. In addition, Artwork View enables incredable close-up zooming
capablilities for selected paintings. Finally, additional educational information is provided
for each of the selected works.
Over 300 full-text journals covering drama, music, art, filmmaking and more.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Fine Arts & Music Collection contains nearly 300 full-text journals with over 100 of those peer-reviewed with
a focus on titles indexed in Wilson Art and RILM.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Access news, business, and legal sources from the U.S. and around the world.
LexisNexis Academic is divided into four catagories that can be
searched individually or in combination:
"News"
provides full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around
the world, including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977); over 300 major magazines and
journals; and broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio
networks.
"Legal" includes primary source material such as case law,
statutes and regulations along with legal news and law reviews for background or
analysis of a legal topic, including access to Shepard's Citations service for all
federal and states court cases back to 1789.
"Business" provides U.S. and international company financial
information, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search
features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income
and number of employees.
"People" offers biographies and obituaries of people in the
news, government, and industry.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
9 reference books and dictionaries covering art and architecture, artists, photography, landscaping, and
design.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles
covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and
Social Sciences to Business and Professional. Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections. Also
included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and timelines broken down by theme or country.
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.